Results from the Poll: Love and work are not incompatible!!

But there might be some separations ūüôā

I know that question wasn’t actually asked but it is a natural conclusion from the responses I had..

I used to 31.82%

Sometimes

22.73%

I am not sure you can love what you do for a living

13.64%

yes, every day I wake up raring to go

9.09%

Other:

22.73%

A lot of people read that post. Most of them didn’t respond but enough did ¬†to think about it some more.

I must confess I was very curious what the results would be. If you look at the results you will see ¬†that ¬† “Loving what you do” ¬†has been or is a real sensation for over 60% if not all of the time.

Initially I thought the OTHER results might account for people who do not love what they do, or hate it . In fact most of the reasons  cited situations which made the other responses not appropriate for them.  All bar one of these also allowed for the real possibility that you can love what you do for a living.

So a new way of life work and love being synonymous. My grandparents and parents generation might have said that you were lucky to love what you did, or expect you to be an artist or someone building a vocational life.

Early in my career it was suggested to me that most of the time you could divide the work up into 3

1/3 you love/enjoy

1/3 thats  ok.. it doesnt wear you out to do it and its not unpleasant to you

and  1/3 that you dislike and at times hate

Looking across my career I can see that I have been in all of the categories.

Years of working with people as they grasp opportunities and grapple with difficulties I have a slightly different opinion now.The 1/3 break down has some merit, particularly at the start of your career. Working out what you like and dislike, what you want more of, what surprisingly has interested you, is part of starting off. As you get more experience being clear what you will tolerate and expect from yourself and others has a bearing on this too, what makes you happy may not be WHAT you are doing always but the people you are doing it with.

When you do get those soaring moments, days, weeks where you are stretching out, loving it you almost need the downtime of the middling 1/3 to rest, before the next high flight.

You can tell I am not a statistician ( though once rather miraculously I did get an 96% result in a statistics exam at university) And my analysis may not be the best in the world. ¬†Perhaps all those people who didn’t answer found the whole subject area irrelevant for them and my results are skewed. Perhaps because it is THIS blog the readership skewed the result. I am pretty sure both of those are true. I may certainly rearrange the order of the ¬†responses in future and think about other ways of approaching.

However there is another story to tell I think.

What if I reorder the first 3 answers

Yes every dayI wake up raring to go  9.09%

Sometimes                                                     22.74%

I used to                                                          31.8%

Is there a story to tell with the 31.8  and perhaps including the Other 9.09%

Did they once leap out of bed in the morning raring to go and have they slipped through each section. Is it just possible most of us want to and can love what we do?

What might have happened to make the journey down hill?

and

What if we could find a set of ways to reverse the percentages for those answers.

What if ¬†“Yes everyday I wake up raring to go” ¬†had a response of 31.8%, what could we achieve?

By the way I’ve been in each of the sections I listed at different times. And going back to the 1/3 split I described earlier, from personal experience I can tell you that:

the 1/3 I loved was so brilliant it shone a light on the other 2/3

It became a bigger third…

I would love to hear you any thoughts on this. Please feel free to comment below.

Leave a Reply

